Highlights & Honors




CIAA Hall of Fame Honors

Stinson Joins 500-win Club

JSU Rhodes Scholar Candidate

The CIAA celebrates THE 75th Anniversary of the Annual CIAA Tournament and the 2020 John B. McLendon Hall of Fame Class. The conference honored Antonio Davis (Livingstone College), Albert “A.J.” English (Virginia Union University), LeVelle Moton (North Carolina Central University), Leslie Speight (CIAA official) and the 1983 Virginia Union women’s basketball team, led by All-Americans Paris McWhirter and Barvenia Wooten. 

Head men’s basketball coach James Stinson celebrated his 500th career win in his 16th season at Livingstone (and 30th overall). Stinson led the Blue Bears to their first 17-win season and advanced to the second round of the CIAA Tournament for the first time in 10 years.
Stinson’s record at LC stands at 228-219 (and counting) with three Southern Division titles and the 2014 and 2015 CIAA Tournament championships. From 2012-15, the Blue Bears had season runs of 22-7, 21-8 and 19-10.
Overall, Stinson’s career record is 500-379 (57% percent) and counting. Congratulations!

Jordan Jefferson, a senior wide receiver on the Tigers football team and Student Government Association President could become first ever Rhodes Scholar in JSU History.
The political science major was selected as a finalist from over 2,500 applicants and will have an opportunity to be one of 32 U.S. Rhodes Scholars that will join an international group from over 60 countries for a global number of 100 scholars. The Rhodes Scholarship provides an all-expense paid education to the University of Oxford in England.
Past recipients include former President Bill Clinton, MSNBC show host Rachel Maddow, U.S. Sen. Cory Booker, and NFL player Myron Rolle.
HBCU recipients:
Howard University
Cameron Clarke (2017)  biology and health education; Marianna Ofosu (2003) Classics major and political science minor; Carla Peterman (1999) history major; Mark Alleyne (1986) magna cum laude (the first Rhodes Scholar from an HBCU)
Morehouse College
Franck Nijimbere (2018) doctorate in computer science; Prince Abudu (2016) computer science major; Oluwabusayo “Tope’” Folarin (2004) Political Science; Christopher Elders (2002) political science; Nima Warfield (1994) first African American Rhodes Scholar


Scroll to Top